Guide · Updated October 2026
Custom vs. semi-custom vs. stock cabinets

What is the difference between custom, semi-custom and stock cabinets?
| Feature | Stock | Semi-custom | Custom |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sizing | Fixed widths, typically in 3-inch steps; filler strips close gaps | Catalog sizes plus paid modifications; some lines go to 1-inch steps | Any dimension |
| Box material | Varies by line: particleboard or plywood | Plywood on mid-range lines and up; particleboard at entry level | Whatever is specified: plywood, MDF or solid wood |
| Door and finish choice | Short catalog | Dozens of door profiles and colors | Any profile, species and finish the shop offers |
| Interior storage | Basic shelves, few pull-outs | Pull-outs and organizers from a catalog | Designed around the room and the owner |
| Typical lead time | Days to about 3 weeks | About 4–8 weeks | About 6–20 weeks, depending on the shop |
| Price per linear foot, installed (U.S.) | $100–$400 | $150–$700 | $500–$1,200 |
| Durability | Set by box, joinery, finish and hardware | Set by box, joinery, finish and hardware | Set by box, joinery, finish and hardware |
Sources: sizing from KraftMaid and ZMC Cabinetry; box material and finish range from ZMC; lead times from VL Builders, ZMC and HomeGuide; prices from HomeGuide’s 2026 cost guide. All checked October 2026.
What are stock cabinets?
Stock cabinets are pre-built in a fixed set of sizes and kept in inventory. Lowe’s says you can usually take them home the same day or a few days later (checked October 2026).
Sizes step in 3-inch increments. KraftMaid’s standard sizes, for example, run from 6 to 48 inches wide in 3-inch steps for base and wall cabinets, and 84 to 96 inches tall in 3-inch steps for tall cabinets. Standard base cabinets are 24 inches deep and 34 1/2 inches tall, which puts a typical countertop at 36 inches; uppers are usually 12 inches deep. When a wall does not divide evenly into those widths, the installer closes the gap with filler strips.
Box quality varies widely. ZMC Cabinetry, a Northern California dealer, notes that some stock lines use plywood boxes and some use particleboard, so ask before you buy.
What are semi-custom cabinets?
Semi-custom cabinets are built after you order them from a manufacturer’s catalog, with more sizes, door styles and finishes than stock and a menu of paid modifications.
How far those modifications go depends on the line. ZMC says some semi-custom lines size to 1-inch increments while others are stock cabinets with a wider color range. KraftMaid says its special-order program can change width, depth and height in 1/16-inch increments.
Each change is priced separately, and the changes add up. ZMC’s rule of thumb: if you are modifying more than a third of a line’s standard specs, get a parallel custom quote, because heavily modified semi-custom can reach custom pricing.
What are custom cabinets?
Custom cabinets are built to order for one room, in any size, from the materials and finishes the shop offers.
Lowe’s describes custom cabinets as made to almost any size, with your choice of framed or frameless construction, door and drawer-front style, overlay, color and finish. That matters in rooms with out-of-square walls, sloped or tall ceilings, ceiling-height runs, or built-ins that wrap a window. The trade-off is time and involvement: you approve a design before anything is cut, and changes after that point cost money. For the construction choice, see frameless vs. face-frame cabinets.
How do lead times compare?
Stock takes days to a few weeks, semi-custom roughly 4 to 8 weeks, and custom roughly 6 to 20 weeks depending on the shop. Ask what each quoted time covers, because design, production, delivery and installation are separate stages.
| Source | Stock | Semi-custom | Custom |
|---|---|---|---|
| VL Builders (Colorado) | Delivered and installed in 1–3 weeks | Delivered in 4–6 weeks | 8–12 weeks for fabrication and delivery |
| ZMC Cabinetry (Northern California) | In stock to 3 weeks | 4–8 weeks | 10–20 weeks from design sign-off |
| HomeGuide, Denver page | Not stated | Not stated | 6–12 weeks on average to design, build and install |
| HomeGuide, national | Not stated | Not stated | 2–4 months to build and install |
| The Home Depot | Not stated | Not stated | In-home delivery can take up to 9 weeks or more |
Our target is about 8–10 weeks from signed design to install. Our process page walks through each stage.
How much more do custom cabinets cost?
Per foot, custom costs several times as much as stock. HomeGuide lists stock at $100 to $400 per linear foot installed, semi-custom at $150 to $700 and custom at $500 to $1,200, and HomeAdvisor says custom cabinets cost two to five times as much as stock or semi-custom (both checked October 2026).
The gap narrows when a semi-custom order needs many modifications, or when a custom shop keeps its menu of doors and finishes short. For Colorado ranges and worked kitchen estimates, see how much custom cabinets cost in Colorado.
Are custom cabinets more durable than stock cabinets?
Not automatically. Durability comes from the box material, joinery, finish and hardware, not from the tier name.
The Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturers Association certifies cabinets to its A161.1 standard, which KCMA says takes 14 tests, including a 600-pound load test, and it notes that certified cabinets exist at every price point, from builder-grade to custom (checked October 2026). ZMC makes the same point from the showroom floor: a well-specified semi-custom cabinet in a plywood box can outlast a poorly specified custom one.
Whatever tier you buy, ask what the boxes are made of and how thick the panels are, whether drawers run on full-extension slides, how the finish is applied, and how wall cabinets are fastened. Our proposed build standard is 3/4" plywood cabinet boxes with Blum soft-close hinges and Blum full-extension, soft-close undermount drawer slides; see kitchen cabinets for details.
When does each type make sense?
Stock fits standard rooms and tight timelines, semi-custom fits mostly standard rooms that need a particular look, and custom fits rooms where exact sizes, storage or long-term use matter most.
- Stock: rentals and flips, garages and laundry rooms, kitchens whose walls happen to fit 3-inch steps, and jobs that need cabinets in days.
- Semi-custom: a mostly standard kitchen where you want a specific door or paint color and need only a few size changes.
- Custom: odd dimensions, older walls, tall or sloped ceilings, built-ins that must match the kitchen, a long stay in the house, or a semi-custom quote that keeps growing with modifications.
Where does a CNC custom shop fit?
A CNC custom shop sits between the tiers: custom on sizing, closer to semi-custom on options. Every box is cut to the room’s exact dimensions, while door styles, finishes and hardware come from a short, standard menu.
Because a CNC router cuts every part from the design file, a non-standard width is no harder to make than a standard one. Keeping the menu short is what keeps production predictable. That is our model: frameless (full-access) boxes cut to size, with three door styles (Shaker, Slim Shaker, Slab) and painted, natural or stained white oak, and walnut finishes. See packages for how the options are grouped, or request a quote for your room.
Frequently asked questions
Are semi-custom cabinets the same as custom cabinets?
No. Semi-custom cabinets start from a manufacturer’s catalog box and let you change some sizes, doors, finishes and interiors for a fee. Custom cabinets are built for one room, with no fixed list of sizes.
What sizes do stock cabinets come in?
Stock cabinets come in fixed widths that typically step in 3-inch increments. KraftMaid’s standard base and wall cabinets, for example, run from 6 to 48 inches wide in 3-inch steps (checked October 2026). Standard base cabinets are 24 inches deep and 34 1/2 inches tall, which puts the countertop at about 36 inches.
How long do custom cabinets take?
It depends on the shop. HomeGuide’s Denver page says 6 to 12 weeks on average to design, build and install; VL Builders in Colorado says 8 to 12 weeks for fabrication and delivery; a Northern California dealer, ZMC Cabinetry, says 10 to 20 weeks from design sign-off (all checked October 2026).
Are stock cabinets lower quality than custom cabinets?
Not necessarily. Quality comes from the box material, joinery, finish and hardware, not the tier. The Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturers Association says cabinets certified to its A161.1 standard are available at every price point, from builder-grade to custom.
Is semi-custom always cheaper than custom?
Usually per foot, but not always. Semi-custom modifications are priced one at a time, and ZMC Cabinetry reports that heavily modified semi-custom orders can match or exceed the price of a simpler custom line.
Can I mix custom and stock cabinets in one house?
Yes. Many homeowners use stock or semi-custom cabinets in a garage or laundry room and custom in the kitchen. Mixing tiers inside one room is harder, because matching door profiles, paint color and sheen across different makers rarely works well.
Which type of cabinet is best for an older home with uneven walls?
Custom usually fits best, because each box can be sized to the actual walls and the end panels and fillers can be scribed to out-of-square spots. Stock and semi-custom cabinets rely more on filler strips and trim to close the gaps.
Tell us about your project
Send a few details and rough measurements. We'll reply with next steps and a ballpark range.